Jobs twitter

For me, getting regular work as a freelance cartoonist has always been a matter of being in the right place at the right time.

I’ve been told “location” no longer matters in this global electronic world we now work in, but I’m yet to be convinced that location doesn’t sway editors in their selection of cartoonist.

So, I was advised to get a blog to improve my “place and time” aspect. I’ve had it for a year now, averaging over 1100 views per month. It has not pulled 1 job for me.

Someone else said I had to also be on twitter. Last week I opened a twitter account.

What a tsunami of words and waffle. Thank God each is limited to 140 characters. I’m sticking mainly to people within the media, but some of them obviously have heaps of spare time on their hands.

Early twitter days and no jobs so far. Quite understandable.

But, considering twitter is classified as Social” media, I reckon there should be an extra bit screwed onto it. Let’s call it “serious commercial” twitter. This is where business could be twitted about. Jobs opportunities, partnerships, skills needed, etc. Anything which is commercial and not social.

Then, and only then, would the starving freelance cartoonists of this world not have to wade through mountains of uninteresting social twitting to locate any job opportunities.

In the meantime, if anyone knows where to look in twitter and find jobs for cartoonists, please let me know.

 

 

About cartoonmick

Mick has enjoyed creating cartoons and humorous illustrations since 1996, and his creations have appeared in newspapers, magazines, various manuals and the Internet. Please have a look around Mick’s samples in the 4 sections here and email him for a quote at cartoons@iinet.net.au

Posted on April 3, 2013, in Cartoon, illustration, humour, humor, caricature, political, art, Australia, Perth, cartoonist, Illustrator and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi Mick,

    I can offer some ideas – let’s call it food for thought – as I dabble in cartooning, but it’s not my profession.

    Personally, I think blogs and Twitter will result in very few hits (onto your site/account). The main reasons – I don’t think editors/people interested in seeking cartoonists hunt out blogs or twitter accounts. I’m guessing your blog followers are more than likely other bloggers, not ‘buyers’. That’s not to say blogging is not worthwhile (but that’s another topic and I digress).

    I recommend you set yourself up in places where people go to, to find cartoonists. I’m a member of the Australian Cartoonists Association (ACA). If you apply for ‘professional’ membership you get to set up a portfolio of your work on their website. Also, you can join in on the Community discussion board (I recall a recent discussion on Twitter with cartoonists lamenting it was useless) and post some queries there – I have found them always very open and friendly.

    Also, as a member, the ACA send out emails every now and then when people approach them seeking a specific type of cartoonist.

    My friend is an illustrator and they set up a portfolio on the Style File and had a hit from a children’s book publisher wanting an illustrator. I haven’t tried it, so can’t offer any personal experience here, but I think this and others like this are worthwhile considering.

    As for Twitter, I see this as social, not business. LinkedIn is more for business, but I don’t know how effective that space is for the cartooning profession – it works for engineering.

    Hope this has given you something to think about.

    Marti

    • Thanks for your thoughts on this,Marti.
      Yeah, I have reservations about the effectiveness of social media in finding work, but I’ll give it a run and see what happens.
      Agree about the ACA, worth being a member.

      Cheers
      Mick

  2. Hello, Mick,
    I often wonder about the connections we “think” we’re making via the Internet, whether blogging, tweeting, updating, linking, etc. It seems like these attempts to connect far and wide, and in great numbers is like casting our words and works into the wind–they’re adrift in the vast and sometimes void virtual world.
    It’s mind-boggling and -blowing sometimes.

Comments

