Mind how you change.

The debatable “climate change” seems to be melting ice caps, altering seawater acidity and temperature, increasing weather severity, and all sorts of things if we are to believe everything that has been written on the topic.

But what about us, the human race, how is it effecting us?

Is it altering our minds, changing our behaviour, making us more aggressive? You only have to follow the news headlines to know about the multitude of global conflicts, large and small. I realise people have fought for centuries over food, territory, religion, politics and a variety of other causes. But recently there seems to have been an increase in aggression, especially at the individual level.  People get aggravated without being provoked. They just seem to switch on and attack for no apparent reason.

I’m prompted to write this because of a small post I placed on someone’s blog today. It was a mild (no comment) kind of remark of about 30 words, which gave no real opinion of the topic under discussion. But, two people attacked me aggressively for no good reason.

Don’t get me wrong here. I’m quite capable of writing an item which could attract this kind of response, but in this case, I was very careful and went out of my way to be sure in was as inoffensive as possible.  But no, in they came, making assumptions about my post and abusing me over it.

I then did my best to annoy these two by totally ignoring them and not taking their bait in responding. I strongly suspect they get their jollies from this kind of behaviour.

But why do people do this, what’s wrong with them? Is it a hobby?

Surely it’s not part of climate change.

Or is it ?

.

About cartoonmick

Mick has enjoyed creating cartoons and humorous illustrations since 1996, and his creations have appeared in newspapers, magazines, various manuals and the Internet. Please have a look around Mick’s samples in the 4 sections here and email him for a quote at cartoons@iinet.net.au

Posted on September 23, 2012, in Cartoon, illustration, humour, humor, caricature, political, art, Australia, Perth, cartoonist, Illustrator and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. For my two bobs worth – no, it’s not the climate. (I’m an engineer and a bit too logical about these things). It’s just one of those topics that people have a deep value in (just like politics, religion etc). People get a bee in their bonnet, get emotional and irrational and see things from their perspective.

    Marti

  2. Not taking the bait is always the best strategy here– well done. And I’m afraid bad manners is one thing that can’t be blamed on global warming… : P

    Stay on that high road, sir, good show! : )

Comments

